What to do with…..Resting

Resting is the last component of my lesson with Head Start (ages 3-5) and the mid-point component of my studio classes in creative dance.  There are lots of kinds of music you can play during resting: lullabies (I favor Carol Rosenberger’s Such Stuff As Dreams, James Galway’s Nocturnes, or you can use the last two tracks from my Brain Bop CD, or the Resting music from Songs for Dancing).

Lately, I’ve added some verbal prompts for my Head Start students, since some have a hard time settling.

First, I ask them to find a place with empty space on either side, and to do ‘the 3 S’s’: straight, still and silent.  Straight means arms are straight by their sides, and legs are straight.  An aligned body, lying face up.

Sometimes I ask for ‘3 P’s’: patient, polite and peaceful.  By being still and quiet, they are showing respect to the others.

If you choose to give each child an alignment adjustment, the ‘patient’ word helps them remember to wait their turn.

Finally, when we are done (the duration of a musical selection, 2-4 minutes), I ask students to ‘sit up to the mountain.’

That’s the Mountain Breathing position, a simple yoga seated posture, with hands above the heads, fingers touching, in a mountain shape.

Then, we place our hands on our chest and say, as call and response, “I feel calm…..I feel peaceful….I feel relaxed.”

After that, we float our hands down. If lining up to depart the space, we may float like clouds, balloons or other soft things, with the calm, peaceful, relaxed feeling and moving slowly, smoothly and safely.

 

May 2, 2015. Tags: , , , . Kate Kuper on Teaching Creative Dance, Resting, What to do with...., Working with Kate's Material.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

