What to do with….Imaginary Journey

Imaginary Journey is from AlphaBeat. (You can download the track or the whole CD from itunes or order a disc through my website: katekuper.com)

Use visual supports!

Children may have no knowledge or experience with ‘astronauts’ and their ‘helmets.’ Not to mention ‘ice skates,’ or ‘meadows.’

I link this to the “S” words that demonstrate energy/movement quality: sharp, smooth, shaky and swinging.

I show them the letter ‘S’ and the blended sounds of ‘sh’ /’sm’/’sw’
for the energy words. Every time they identify the energy, we briefly move on our spot, still seated, using that energy. Show me shaky movement…Freeze!

Then, as I show them each picture and we talk about what we see in the pictures, I ask them about the quality. How will we move as astronauts? Smooth. Through blue Jell-O? Shaky.

I add other ‘S’ words as we go along: skate, stick, snow, strong and slow (for taking big steps through the snow).

I also model the line of direction (LOD) we’ll use as we go through the space (generally around in a circle).

Finally, after the dance is done, I show each picture again and ask them: What did we do when we were here? Or “How did we move when we were here?” I can follow that up with “Was it smooth or sharp?”

This is a great way to work on imagination and energy qualities, and make language and vocabulary connections.

I’ve attached a collection of images you can show before you start the activity.

Imaginary Journey Images

June 24, 2014. Tags: , , , , , , , . Elements of Creative Dance, Kate Kuper on Teaching Creative Dance, What to do with...., Working with Kate's Material.

One Comment

  1. Kerry Bevens replied:

    Thanks Kate! This is going to be a huge help for me.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

