Zipper Songs (and Dances)

Zipper songs (and dances) allow for variation within structure.  For example, zipper songs change one element of the lyric, “zippered” in, while the rest remains the same.

I like to sing zipper songs with the children while we are waiting (by the door, in the circle, by the bus, by the bathroom, etc.) The need for this came up in my teaching because I ask children to remove their shoes to dance.  It takes a while for shoes and socks to come off (and on). Because ‘down time’ can only lead to ‘off task’ behavior, we always want to have plenty of creative transition ideas at the ready.

In the following Weather Song, weather and body part are zippered in.
Use gestures, too.  And modulate your voice to reflect the quality of the words and actions.

 
Weather Song

(To the tune of Frere Jacques)

Snow is falling, snow is falling,

On my head, on my head.

Snow is falling, snow is falling,

On my head, on my head.

 

Other verses:

Rain…on my knees….

Meatballs…on my shoulders…

 

Good weather ideas:

Sun is shining…on my __________.

 

Weather: Fog, drizzle, hail…
Funny things: Cats, Frisbees, Basketballs…

Ask the children for ideas, too.
 

Find A Spot zipper song

This one is for finding a spot in the room to dance. I use yoga mats cut into 10 equal pieces as ‘yoga dots.’  As I’m tossing them out, students move from the circle to their spot as I tap them on shoulder, knee, etc.
I sing the intro, then touch 3 – 5 children.
As I’m singing the intro, I’m tossing out spots.
This fun transition moves quickly, gets everyone to a spot, and gives me the control to tap the most self-regulated students first.

After I’ve sung the pattern once, students get the hang of it and suggest other body parts.

I often pause by the next child I’m going to tap, look at them, and wait for that child to name a new part to use.

I might change the part for every line of the song.  I sing until everyone has a spot!

 

(To the tune of If You’re Happy and You Know It)

When I touch you on the _______________ find a spot (tap, tap, tap, tap)

When I touch you on the _______________ find a spot. (tap, tap, tap, tap)

When I touch you on the _______________ find a spot, find a spot. (tap, tap, tap, tap)

When I touch you on the _______________ find a spot. (tap, tap, tap, tap)

 

Options: shoulder, knee, back, head, wrist, elbow…

 

 

January 15, 2014. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Favorite Music, Transition Magic.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

